Kindle Customer Review


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond AWESOME!, June 21, 2012
This review is from: Kindle Fire, Full Color 7" Multi-touch Display, Wi-Fi (Electronics)
At first I wanted an iPad 2. But it was way too expensive, so I thought I would give the Kindle Fire a chance. Turns out, I like the Kindle Fire better. I've played with iPad 2's and there just too big. The Fire is just the right size. Yeah, it doesn't have a camera, but that's not what its for. You can watch unlimited movies, if you have prime. The only thing I don't like about it is, you can only have one prime book each month. I found it a little weird when the power button was on the bottom. My friends were like 'how do you turn it on'.
A few things I would change about the Kindle Fire;
- Have a home button, its just easyier.
- Have unlimited books each month (prime members only)
- Maybe volume buttons?
- Have your own picture as backgrounds ; after a while the ones they have get old.

I definitely recommend this product. I absolutely love it!! <3 If the makers of this fine and dandy tablet come out with a 'Kindle Fire 2' or a newer body of this Kindle Fire, I will definitely get it.

2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, but not practical..., June 21, 2012
By lwd (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kindle Fire, Full Color 7" Multi-touch Display, Wi-Fi (Electronics)
My fault, I should have read the reviews before I shelled out the money. Granted, the color and clarity is amazing, but...

1. Compared to previous Kindles, the battery life is extremely short. (4-6 hours tops with the wi-fi turned off, my e-ink Kindle can go up to 3 weeks without a recharge.) I primarily use the Kindle for reading books, trying to read a novel without a recharge is nearly impossible. I often read 2-3 books when travelling overseas, I won't be able to do so with the Fire.

2. Glare. Reading outside is not an option. The backlight is okay inside (assuming you want to read in the dark), any overhead lights in your home should be turned off for easy reading.

4. Cover - you have to buy your own, and it is necessary to have one. The lowest price I found was $25.00 (and it's not worth the money - the one I found -Marware- doesn't work as advertised - another review forthcoming).
USB connection - Again, you have to purchase your own, the Fire only comes with an electrical connection. Another $25.00.
Add the two additional necessities together and the cost of the Fire is not the $199.00 bargain you thought you were getting, but a minimum of $250.00 (i.e., you can buy 3 e-ink Kindles for the same price and still have a few bucks left over for coffee.)

5. Transferring books from other venders - not happening without a USB connection. You have to manually transfer .mobi books via USB from your computer. Same issue with transferring documents, you need a USB connection unless you want to mail them to yourself (which means you have to turn your wi-fi on, losing battery life).

6. On/off switch. It's about the size of a large pinhead, difficult to find and push. If you have large fingers, it's best to use your fingernail or the tip of a pen.

7. Finding books via the carousel is a bit tricky. When scrolling, the Fire is so sensitive you often download a book you don't want to read.

8. Controls - Returning to the home page, or using any other function key is a pain in the behind. Tap the top of the screen, tap the bottom of the screen, if you're lucky... the controls might show up. I'll probably get the hang of it - eventually.

9. Highlighting - Difficult. It takes a very steady hand, or you will generally find that you highlighted a word or sentence either above or below your original objective. A little wiggle of your finger will inadvertently turn the page.

10. Weight. The Fire would probably make a handy doorstop, but if you carry it in your purse, backpack or briefcase, a counterweight would be a good idea or you'll end up at the chiropractor.

The 10 reasons above are just the ones I've found in the week since buying the Fire. Again, the fault is mine, not Amazon's, so I won't be returning the Fire or the additional products I had to purchase (cover and USB connection) for a refund. Too much trouble, even if it would put the $250 back on my credit card. I should have paid more attention to the details before I bought the Fire.

In brief - Unless you seriously need color, or want to impress your friends with the latest (very pretty) version of the Kindle, this is not the product you want for reading. Stick with the e-ink readers.

5.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Fire, June 21, 2012
This review is from: Kindle Fire, Full Color 7" Multi-touch Display, Wi-Fi (Electronics)
I was completely surprised, in a good way, when I received my new Fire. I would recommend one to anyone looking for a highly functional tablet, at a VERY affordable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful

5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, June 21, 2012
This review is from: Kindle Fire, Full Color 7" Multi-touch Display, Wi-Fi (Electronics)
I honestly love it! At home, all I use my computer for is surfing the internet, checking facebook and play a few games. Since I got this, I hardly ever have to use my computer.

Using this as an e-reader is awesome! At night, I don't have to turn on the light and disturb my wife. The only downside I have seen thus far is using it in sunlight, because the glare is terrible. Otherwise, this really is a fantastic product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

1.0 out of 5 stars bad wifi reviews, June 21, 2012
This review is from: Kindle Fire, Full Color 7" Multi-touch Display, Wi-Fi (Electronics)
i was going to buy one for my wifes birthday but the wifi issue is not resolved.
you lost my business

5.0 out of 5 stars I love my kindle fire!, June 21, 2012
This review is from: Kindle Fire, Full Color 7" Multi-touch Display, Wi-Fi (Electronics)
I bought my kindle fire for entertainment. I have enjoyed reading and playing games on it. It is very user friendly, and comes ready to use right out of the box. I also think Amazon prime is a definite need if you own a kindle fire. I intend to sign up for it when my free trial expires. If you love to read, watch videos, or play games, you would like the kindle fire. The only 2 cons I can speak of are that I do find myself missing having a camera (probably because everything has a camera on it, though it has caused me to use my digital camera more which is not necessarily a bad thing) and I wish the books were a little cheaper. The classics are free, and there are some good deals, but I definitely think there are a few of the books that are still a little high.

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome device, June 21, 2012
This review is from: Kindle Fire, Full Color 7" Multi-touch Display, Wi-Fi (Electronics)
Wow, no words can describe for the price this is the one tablet to get! I love this more than my IPAD and the functionality is nearly the same.

5.0 out of 5 stars The 80 - 90% solution at 30% of the cost, June 21, 2012
By Gary Hom (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kindle Fire, Full Color 7" Multi-touch Display, Wi-Fi (Electronics)
Was skeptical as to the functionality of the Kindle Fire but for the $139 refurbished sale, I decided to give it a whirl.
General Functionality is good, but the real story is the content.

The Fire is the gateway to Amazon content, but lots of FREE applications and the Amazon 20GB Cloud Music.
Amazon has supplied an Eco-sphere to support the Fire with their Marketplace, Amazon Prime and Amazon Cloud Player.

BTW the Amazon Cloud Player will give you a music content platform that you can share across your devices the is 4.95/year CHEAPER than the Apple iCloud Music match service

Amazon Prime at $79.95/year and Amazon Cloud Player at $20/year are a good deal to extend the functionality of your Fire.
That's only $8.33/Month folks...Less than a Netflix or Hulu Plus subscription and iCloud Music match PLUS you get express shipping for a year,
and you can get a Kindle Book every month.
I realize that the FREE Amazon Prime Video Content is not the most current stuff but Netflix is somewhat limited also.
I only have 1 in my house but have been told that multiple users in the same household can share the Amazon Prime account so the monthly per user will drop even more.

Yes, the doubters will point out that the Fire is just a conduit for Amazon content.....Doh

And now you have HBO Go available on the Fire...

I did not even mention you can do your email, IM, SMS, Facebook, LinkedIn, Load Movies and Music

It is WiFi only but WiFi is getting easier to find and it seems everyone has WiFi in their house.
Tested at Starbucks and McDonalds
Starbucks works for everything including streaming Video and Music
McDonalds sees to be throttling it's WiFi and streaming content locks up, even Music, but you can still email, IM, SMS, Facebook and LinkedIn

I guess if you want to root the thing you can get even more but for $139 on sale or $169 Refurbished or $199 brand spanking new it's a good value.

I suppose that you could get a USED 2+ year old iPad 1 for around $250, but you lose the form factor and Amazon Prime Content but not sure if it is as good a value.

Is it an iPad or a Galaxy? NO, but are either available at this price point with a supporting Eco-Sphere?

5.0 out of 5 stars so versatile, June 21, 2012
This review is from: Kindle Fire, Full Color 7" Multi-touch Display, Wi-Fi (Electronics)
I love that I can read, shop and use Face Book! Havent even begun to tap all the choices yet like games and apps. Also, reading without needing glasses is a treat as well as getting books almost instantly.

1.0 out of 5 stars Cute for reading, June 21, 2012
This review is from: Kindle Fire, Full Color 7" Multi-touch Display, Wi-Fi (Electronics)
Browser slow and restarts. Sometimes lags, slow to detect typing. Takes FOREVER to fully charge. Overall good if you only want to read and play games. Dont expect much more.